Conductor, Bruno Aprea
© María Marí-Pérez
Bruno Aprea
13/04/2020 - Lunes 20.00h comprar

13 April, 2020

Conductor, Bruno Aprea

The exuberant alliance of youth and maturity

Youth and experience. Impetus and maturity. For its yearly appearance at the Teatro de la Maestranza of the Andalusia Youth Orchestra (OJA) - which reached its 25th year in 2019- , this time it brings this successful group of young musicians to work with a veteran conductor, well known for his deep understanding and expertise.

This season, it will be an Easter concert for its many fans: the OJA will be working under a legendary conductor, Bruno Aprea (Rome, 1941), who trained with Sergiu Celibidache and Franco Ferrara and went on to win the Koussevitzky Prize at the 1977 Tanglewood Festival, awarded by a panel which included Leonard Bernstein. The music fans of Seville haven’t forgotten the electrifying production of Puccini’s “Tosca” which Aprea conducted at the Teatro de la Maestranza, with stunning staging by Luca Ronconi.

The programme includes a work which deals with tensions between the old world (Europe) and the new (America): the 9th Symphony, “New World”, which the great Romantic Czech composer A. Dvořák (1841-1901) wrote in the United States in 1893, during his time as director of the New York Conservatory. While in America, Dvořák became interested in Negro spirituals -“...the future music of this country must be founded on what are called Negro melodies”, he wrote- and the music of the Native Americans, developing some of its unique features in his own themes with the rhythms, counterpoint, and colour of a modern orchestral arrangement.

The symphony was a resounding success at its 1893 debut at Carnegie Hall, and has continued to be popular ever since, with some of its famous musical motifs used in advertising and films.

This makes it very appropriate for the coming together, on the one hand, of a youthful, skilful, spontaneous group, one which has always impressed with its technical ability and passion for music, and on the other, the long experience of a conductor who has always been committed to helping new musicians, attested by his years working with Venezuela’s Simón Bolívar Orchestra.

Dvořák, Symphony No. 9 in E minor, "From the New World", Op. 95, B. 178

13 April, 2020

Stalls (Patio) 25€
Balcony (1ª Balcón) 23€
Balcony (2ª Balcón) 21€
Terrace (1ª Terraza) 19€
Terrace (2ª Terraza) 17€
Slips (1ª Paraíso) 14€
Slips (2ª Paraíso) 12€
Slips (3ª Paraíso) 10€

BUY TICKETS ONLINE: 4 November, 2019. Possibility of printing tickets at home using the "ticket en casa" system.
BUY TICKETS AT BOX OFFICE: 4 November, 2019.

Telephone. (+34) 954 22 65 73, in the event tickets are still available after the first day of Box Office sales. Surcharge 1.50€.

Internet: you may print your tickets through the “ticket en casa” option. You will receive a confirmation email containing the valid ticket(s). TICKETS MUST BE PRINTED OR DOWNLOADED ON YOUR MOBILE DEVICE IN ORDER TO ACCESS THE HALL.

In case of tickets purchased by phone or online, we strongly recommend you to access the hall in advance in order to avoid any possible inconveniences. Otherwise the hall cannot guarantee the access to the show. 

Box Office:
Paseo de Cristóbal Colón 22.
10am-2pm/5pm-8pm. Monday to Saturday.
Closed on Sundays and holidays when there is no performance.
The Box Office accepts payments in cash and by credit or debit card.

Suscríbete a nuestros boletines informativos
Debe aceptar las condiciones para mandar su consulta
Debe aceptar recibir comunicaciones




Diseño y programación web: Viafisio, S.L. -
Uso de cookies
Este sitio web utiliza cookies para que usted tenga la mejor experiencia de usuario. Si continúa navegando está dando su consentimiento para la aceptación de las mencionadas cookies y la aceptación de nuestra política de cookies, pinche el enlace para mayor información.